aMule Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

We're back! (IN POG FORM)

Author Topic: Why are uploads so much faster than downloads, and what can I do about it?  (Read 2856 times)

kuvasz

• Approved Newbie

"Why are uploads so much faster than downloads, and what can I do about it?"

I really like aMule, but I need to get past the learning curve.

Right now, my "up" is 16,4 while my "down" is 0,4, and it's generally been this way for the last 45 minutes - and this is not uncommon.   Also, my download speed is never higher than 9 and rarely higher than 5. 

I confess that I'm an aMule rookie and would appreciate some tips and hints for maximizing aMule.  I've not tinkered w/ the default settings . . . yet. 

For instance, how can I "encourage" a file to get going, as in finding new sources, or jump-starting a file that's been "waiting" for quite some time?  And how can I balance the upload & download speeds?

Thanks in advance for your help.

----------

10.4.10 on a mac

- k

« Last Edit: July 15, 2007, 02:59:59 PM by kuvasz »

skolnick

• Global Moderator
  • CentOS 6 User

the ED2k network works with queues, where you wait until it's your turn to download. This is no kazaa or gnutella, here you have to wait. It's the way it works. Read the wiki for more info: http://wiki.amule.org

Regards.

kuvasz

• Approved Newbie

Thanks.  I went to the Wiki site and tested my TCP port.  Here's the message I received, "Error: TCP port 4662 is unavailable. Make sure your firewall or router is allowing/forwarding this TCP service port and your ED2K client is running."

1.  I'm using a laptop, so my connection is through the router.  Does that automatically mean that I'll always have Low ID?

2.  Also, how do I make sure that my ED2K client is running?

10-4 for now, and thanks for your help.

- k

skolnick

• Global Moderator
  • CentOS 6 User