aMule Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

We're back! (IN POG FORM)

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4

Author Topic: where did u find aMule ?  (Read 41397 times)

KoZaki

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 59
  • OS : i586 / athlon languages : french, english, chinese
    • http://c.laloy.free.fr/howtos/linux/
Re: where did u find aMule ?
« Reply #15 on: July 09, 2004, 01:04:26 AM »

i heard of it on a big Fr forum called forum.clubic.com, then got the whole story i needed on this adequate website : http://kloxpou.imingo.net/article.php3?id_article=40 " Peetoopee, le p2p sous *nix"

Now i'm giving the news about aMule in this page Peer to Peer
« Last Edit: July 09, 2004, 01:05:21 AM by KoZaki »
Logged
Internet <=> we like to share :D
la FAQ applications Linux

emperor

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 77
Re: where did u find aMule ?
« Reply #16 on: July 16, 2004, 07:48:00 PM »

I found it when i searched for another edonkey client for Linux aside from mldonkey as I was quiet unsatisfied with it. (meaning: google)
Logged

pula

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
Re: where did u find aMule ?
« Reply #17 on: July 22, 2004, 05:20:34 PM »

just freshmeat :-))
Logged

Kry

  • Ex-developer
  • Retired admin
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: -665
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5898
Re: where did u find aMule ?
« Reply #18 on: July 22, 2004, 07:34:33 PM »

Good to hear. Freshmeat rules! Spread the word now!
Logged

CellarDoor

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
Re: where did u find aMule ?
« Reply #19 on: August 01, 2004, 12:45:18 PM »

Once upon a time i was first using emule.
Changed to Overnet because someone said, without servers it's easier to get sources (it isn't you yust need the right servers....Razorback rocks)
Then i got Linux, because on my server windows just f*cked up.
Needed a program for Linux too, Overnet 51 core and ed2k-gtk-gui
Well that worked couple of weeks, but not really good..
Then i heard about aMule in a Forum and thought "Well, maybe i'll try it sometime...."
Two days later my Overnet died...it crashed and went to the Nirvana, taking all temp files with *gr*
That was last Tuesday short before midnight and i thought "Well, just a good time to check out aMule"
As a Linux noob it took me about 5 hours to get it installed (thanks to the #amule Channel, they helped me a lot and nobody kicked me off for my stupid question ;))
And Linux and aMule lived happily everafter (well, i hope they do ;))
Logged

gfc-hustler

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 24
    • http://www.lauinger-clan.de
Re: where did u find aMule ?
« Reply #20 on: August 04, 2004, 02:16:01 PM »

googled it
Logged
Da Pinguine nicht fliegen können, können sie auch nicht abstürzen.

PraiseBob

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
  • Meow!
Re: where did u find aMule ?
« Reply #21 on: August 05, 2004, 01:26:23 PM »

Where did I find aMule ?

easy:  sudo aptitude -u

and there it was, in the New Packages folder.
Logged
"Anyone found collecting balls on the golf course will be prosecuted
and have their balls removed."

^_^

Schwa

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
    • http://schwa.blogsite.org
Re: where did u find aMule ?
« Reply #22 on: August 10, 2004, 09:49:53 AM »

Long time Edonkey2000, then Overnet then Hybrid then eMule then several mods etc, but then discovered GNU and quickly trashed all my micro$crap and initially grabbed mlDonkey (mlNet) but I don't like it's ability to *not* queue uploads then remembered reading on ShareReactor news about lMule and followed the path to xMule then discovered aMule in Kpackage when I decided xMule was behaving badly.  I am waiting for ShareDaemon, but seems that's quite some time from now, also hoping to be able to tell mac users there's something better than mlMac (which is good, but not as great as a Mule client) but the core-gui separation is nice too...
Logged
1ghz P3 Celeron 768mb MEPIS Debian GNU/Linux
350mhz PowerPC G3 384mb Apple Mac OS X 10.3.x
333mhz PowerPC G3 196mb Apple Mac OS X 10.2 [webserver]
200mhz 96mb Knoppix CD 'silent' network computer (no fans no hdd)  ;)

Madcat

  • The One And Only Kitty Developer
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 37
Re: where did u find aMule ?
« Reply #23 on: September 05, 2004, 06:38:27 AM »

Had just installed linux for first time for real usage (had done few tries before but never sticked with it), and was looking for help. Ppl at #linuxhelp weren't very helpful, so since I had heard of LMule from somewhere (dunnoy really where), I went to #lmule, where I found pure_ascii, who was much more helpful than ppl at #linuxhelp. Shortly afterwards I figured LMule was missing some important features I wanted to use (column hiding, multi-selection in lists), so I submitted first few patches, after which pure_ascii gave me CVS access. What happened after that is written in history books :)

Madcat.
Logged

Targaryen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 32
Re: where did u find aMule ?
« Reply #24 on: October 20, 2004, 12:38:08 PM »

When I was moving from Windows XP to Mandrake 10.1, I asked on IRC about good ED2K clients. Ppl reccomended me either MLdonkey or aMule. I tested both and I decided to stay with aMule ^^
Logged

Ateo

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 138
  • pfft.
    • http://www.atheistnetwork.com
RE: where did u find aMule ?
« Reply #25 on: December 08, 2004, 06:30:18 AM »

I learned about aMule a while back (via the gentoo forums) but for some reason was never able to connect to any server. I gave up, installed eMule on my other computer. Got tired of eMule (and generally having to switch to windows to find stuff) so I tried again and copied my config (not the actual files rather I switched back and forth until preferences were the same (or close to it)... Amazingly, it worked.
Logged
-- El payaso cabron me dice que tengo que consumir!

zmogas

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
    • http://www.bambals.lt
RE: where did u find aMule ?
« Reply #26 on: December 27, 2004, 10:26:06 AM »

Used text client eDonkey. Wanted with GUI one.
Got xMule.
Upgraded from RedHat to Debian.
xMule crashing after 10-20 minutes.
Upgraded computer hardware. xMule still crashing.
apt-cache search mule
apt-get install amule
Works perfectly, no crashes! :o)
:))
Logged

Alzii

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
Re: where did u find aMule ?
« Reply #27 on: January 14, 2005, 10:56:00 PM »

emerge search edonkey

Searching...
[ Results for search key : edonkey ]
[ Applications found : 0 ]
 --> omg

emerge search emule

Searching...
[ Results for search key : emule ]
[ Applications found : 0 ]

--> omg

emerge search mule

Searching...
[ Results for search key : mule ]
[ Applications found : 5 ]

....

--> yay


after all it was pure luck that i first tried amule before xmule ... :)
Logged

wiehemaster

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
    • http://bb.sediria.com
Re: where did u find aMule ?
« Reply #28 on: January 19, 2005, 03:37:14 PM »

google -> emule+linux
Logged

nobody

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Google!
« Reply #29 on: January 23, 2005, 12:53:21 PM »

Hi,
searching with google..
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4