aMule Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

We're back! (IN POG FORM)

Author Topic: won't load  (Read 4663 times)

darth_linux

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
won't load
« on: January 09, 2005, 11:21:24 AM »

Hi every one :D,
  Well I just upgraded to amule v2.0.0rc8 and now it won't start up ;(. If I go into the terminal and type in "wish amule" it gives this error:
Xlib: connection to ":0.0" refused by server
Xlib: No protocol specified

Application initialization failed: this isn't a Tk applicationcouldn't connect to display ":0.0"
Error in startup script: couldn't read file "amule": no such file or directory

I use to have amule v1.2.8 and it worked fine, don't know whats wrong with this one. So, can any one please offer assistance, it will be greatly appreaciated. :baby:

Thank you. :))
Logged

stefanero

  • Some Support
  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 8
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4236
Re: won't load
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2005, 11:26:18 AM »

hey

can you try movine your .eMule FILE!! in your homedir? (not the .aMule dir! )
when you upgrade in large version nr this sometimes happens...

ups and btw maybe I shoudl read more, do you run X-server with the same user as you start amule?
seams like it cant connect to it...

stefanero
Logged
In its default setup, Windows XP on the Internet amounts to a car
parked in a bad part of town, with the doors unlocked, the key in
the ignition and a Post-It note on the dashboard saying, "Please
don't steal this."

lfroen

  • Guest
RE: won't load
« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2005, 12:53:23 PM »

Quote
"wish amule"
amule is not tcl script, you know; so don't do it.

Quote
Xlib: connection to ":0.0" refused by server

Your X and/or window manager config is broken. This is xlib message, as you can understand from "Xlib: ..." and have nothing to do with amule in particular.
Try in same terminal write "xlogo". I bet you will get same error. If you do, go and fix your config - amule have nothing to do with it. However, if xlogo showing nice image, but amule keeps telling about "connection refused" you welcome to report it.

stefanero: did you read the post at all ?
Logged

stefanero

  • Some Support
  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 8
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4236
Re: won't load
« Reply #3 on: January 09, 2005, 02:17:21 PM »

well lfroen ;)

he will ahve to move his .eMule file aswell when he comes from 1.2.8...
since amule rc8 will crash ;) but of course tahts not the error he posted ;)

I asume he is lunching amule with some user which cannot connect to the x-server, and this is teh 2nd part I worte :P

stefanero
Logged
In its default setup, Windows XP on the Internet amounts to a car
parked in a bad part of town, with the doors unlocked, the key in
the ignition and a Post-It note on the dashboard saying, "Please
don't steal this."

darth_linux

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Re: won't load
« Reply #4 on: January 09, 2005, 07:58:16 PM »

lfroen> yes when I type in "xlogo" the logo shows up fine, no errors what so ever.

stefanero> I am not sure what you mean, like where do I find this amule file?? Like I know that there is suppose to be a ".aMule" hidden in home directory, i checked that and i didn't find any files with that name. Also I am running Suse 9.2 Pro.

Any other suggestions.
« Last Edit: January 09, 2005, 08:01:32 PM by darth_linux »
Logged

darth_linux

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Re: won't load
« Reply #5 on: January 09, 2005, 08:01:01 PM »

stefanero> oh wait, I just did that "locate .eMule" command and it found it, the file is already in my home directory, not the aMule dir. I checked it.
Also I checked if it was a dependency problem but I don't think it is, I ran the command "rpm -qa | grep wx" and this was the result:
wxGTK-2.5.2.8-3
wxBase-2.4.2-1
wxGTK-compat-2.5.2.8-3
wxGTK1-2.4.2.4-0.gbv.2

Hope that helps.
« Last Edit: January 09, 2005, 08:07:33 PM by darth_linux »
Logged

phoenix

  • Evil respawning bird from aMule Dev Team
  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 44
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2505
  • The last shadow you'll ever see
Re: won't load
« Reply #6 on: January 09, 2005, 08:13:24 PM »

darth_linux,

Yes, that helps. :D

1) Uninstall *all* those rpms.
2) Choose what you want: wxGTK-2.4.2 or wxGTK-2.5.3
3) Install only one version, and use the rpm **FROM OUR SITE**, not your distro's. Or to use wxGTK-2.5.3, you will probably have to compile it yourself, I don't know if there are rpms for it on our site:
http://www.amule.org/files/files.php?cat=12

That should fix.

Cheers!
Logged

Kry

  • Ex-developer
  • Retired admin
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: -665
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5823
Re: won't load
« Reply #7 on: January 09, 2005, 08:49:16 PM »

Don't pay anny attention to this bunch of monkeys. Write "xhost +local:"


(The 'monkeys' is a joke and not pretending to be offensive)
Logged

deltaHF

  • Evil Admin
  • Former Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 6
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3923
  • .. Legends may sleep, but they never die ..
    • http://www.amule.org
Re: won't load
« Reply #8 on: January 09, 2005, 10:07:57 PM »

Quote
Originally posted by darth_linux
Also I checked if it was a dependency problem but I don't think it is, I ran the command "rpm -qa | grep wx" and this was the result:
wxGTK-2.5.2.8-3
wxBase-2.4.2-1
wxGTK-compat-2.5.2.8-3
wxGTK1-2.4.2.4-0.gbv.2

Hope that helps.

yes it helps. amule for suse from our dl page is based on wxgtk from our dl page too and will not run with others

uninstall wxGTK-2.5.2.8-3 wxGTK-compat-2.5.2.8-3 wxGTK1-2.4.2.4-0.gbv.2

download and install http://www.amule.org/files/download.php?file=25 http://www.amule.org/files/download.php?file=26

and well, don't run amule as root if u doing it

cheers

darth_linux

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Re: won't load
« Reply #9 on: January 09, 2005, 10:34:32 PM »

phoenix and deltaHF thank you very much, what you suggested worked great. Thank you, Thank you very much. I can finally use aMule :), love this program. Thank you to others also who took the time to help me. I love your avatar deltaHF.
« Last Edit: January 09, 2005, 10:35:10 PM by darth_linux »
Logged

deltaHF

  • Evil Admin
  • Former Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 6
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3923
  • .. Legends may sleep, but they never die ..
    • http://www.amule.org
Re: won't load
« Reply #10 on: January 09, 2005, 10:35:30 PM »

have fun :)

cheers

ps. i love my avatar too  ;)

phoenix

  • Evil respawning bird from aMule Dev Team
  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 44
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2505
  • The last shadow you'll ever see
Re: won't load
« Reply #11 on: January 09, 2005, 10:52:04 PM »

Kry,

Even monkeys can run aMule. :P And even birds can code aMule :D

Btw, remember to tell me the joke about the monkeys, the only thing I can remember is the MIS bug. :)

Cheers!
Logged