aMule Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

We're back! (IN POG FORM)

Author Topic: VirtualBox with aMule - How to configure network properly ?  (Read 8894 times)

gwpl

  • Approved Newbie
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
VirtualBox with aMule - How to configure network properly ?
« on: August 09, 2012, 01:00:30 PM »

Hello,
for security reasons I am running aMule inside VirtualBox. Guest and Host systems are Linux (to be more specific Arch 64 distro).

My Host system has public ip directly connected to internet (no router).

Guest System i almost pure after installation (no iptables).

I'd like to setup three ports for aMule: 4884, 4885, 4887.

I'd love to use NAT VirtualBox interface, if possible.

For this case I've made following forwarding rules:
Code: [Select]
VBoxManage modifyvm "$vm" --natpf1 "amule_u4,udp,,4884,,4884"
VBoxManage modifyvm "$vm" --natpf1 "amule_u5,udp,,4885,,4885"
VBoxManage modifyvm "$vm" --natpf1 "amule_u7,udp,,4887,,4887"
VBoxManage modifyvm "$vm" --natpf1 "amule_t4,tcp,,4884,,4884"
VBoxManage modifyvm "$vm" --natpf1 "amule_t5,tcp,,4885,,4885"
VBoxManage modifyvm "$vm" --natpf1 "amule_t7,tcp,,4887,,4887"

On Host I've added to /etc/hosts.allow :
Code: [Select]
# amule
4884: ALL
4885: ALL
4887: ALL

Sanity check made with netcat works:
Code: [Select]
netcat -l -p 4885 # insider VM
netcat $ip 4885  # from "outside world"

To ensure:
Code: [Select]
aMule standard TCP Port: 4884
UDP port for server requests (TCP+3): 4887
Extended UDP port (Kad/global search): 4885

But aMule gets only "Low-ID" and "Kad: Firewalled".

Is it possible to configure VM Nat interface and aMule to cooperate nicely ? If yes, how ?
If it is not possbile, why? And how to do this other way?
Logged

Stu Redman

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 214
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3739
  • Engines screaming
Re: VirtualBox with aMule - How to configure network properly ?
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2012, 08:59:54 PM »

for security reasons I am running aMule inside VirtualBox
What security reasons?
You know, if you want to shoot yourself in the foot, be my guest, but don't ask for help about it.
I am running aMule in VmWare (Windows host, Linux guest) on a regular basis, but I'm using Bridged mode where the VM gets connected to the network directly and gets its IP directly through DHCP from the router. No firewalled problems there, I just have to forward my ports in my router.
Logged
The image of mother goddess, lying dormant in the eyes of the dead, the sheaf of the corn is broken, end the harvest, throw the dead on the pyre -- Iron Maiden, Isle of Avalon

gwpl

  • Approved Newbie
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
Re: VirtualBox with aMule - How to configure network properly ?
« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2012, 02:02:08 AM »

If you are curious, in my case host machine is router, so bridging won't work.
Logged