aMule Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

We're back! (IN POG FORM)

Author Topic: Site doesn't work without www.  (Read 5468 times)

eisa01

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 101
Site doesn't work without www.
« on: July 03, 2007, 01:02:14 PM »

When I try to access this site, I repeatedly type amule.org in the location bar, only to find it not finding the server. I have to add www. in front to make it work. This is a bit annoying, could it be fixed?
Logged

Kry

  • Ex-developer
  • Retired admin
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: -665
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5823
Re: Site doesn't work without www.
« Reply #1 on: July 03, 2007, 02:10:10 PM »

It's intentional, to avoid some possible DDoS issues.
Logged

skolnick

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 24
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1189
  • CentOS 6 User
Re: Site doesn't work without www.
« Reply #2 on: July 06, 2007, 02:22:45 AM »

Just type amule, then press Ctrl+Shift+Enter to automatically add the http://www and the .org to the word amule in the address bar. For .com use Ctrl+Enter and for .net use Shift+Enter. This is in firefox, in IE only the .com shortcut works.

Regards.
Logged

eisa01

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 101
Re: Site doesn't work without www.
« Reply #3 on: August 08, 2007, 09:51:08 PM »

That's too hard.

Just noticed someone has implemented a redirect at http://amule.org to the www one.

Thanks ;D

edit: I swear it worked, now it doesn't ??? Guess I spoke too soon… Probably some glitch with the autocomplete in the url field of Safari that made  me see something I didn't.
« Last Edit: August 08, 2007, 09:53:26 PM by eisa01 »
Logged