aMule Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

We're back! (IN POG FORM)

Author Topic: amule-daemon working until now, why not now?  (Read 13400 times)

GrayFox.i0n

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 2
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 139
amule-daemon working until now, why not now?
« on: April 21, 2009, 11:30:28 PM »

I have been using amule-daemon since some time ago, so, what i have been doing since some monthes ago is:
I have a user, named xi0n, that has a /home/xi0n folder
under this folder, you can see:
/home/xi0n/.aMule
/home/xi0n/.Incoming
/home/xi0n/.tempaMule


Until now, everything was working properly, but, since i updated to the last version in debian testing repo, whenever i try to start amule, i get the message:

Code: [Select]
Not starting aMule daemon, AMULED_USER not set in /etc/default/amule-daemon. (warning).
So, i edited /etc/default/amule-daemon, and i left it like this:

Code: [Select]
# Configuration for /etc/init.d/amule-daemon

# The init.d script will only run if this variable non-empty.
AMULED_USER="xion"

# You can set this variable to make the daemon use an alternative HOME.
# The daemon will use $AMULED_HOME/.aMule as the directory, so if you
# want to have $AMULED_HOME the real root (with an Incoming and Temp
# directories), you can do `ln -s . $AMULED_HOME/.aMule`.
AMULED_HOME=""

Now, i get this message:

Code: [Select]
/etc/init.d/amule-daemon: line 37:  2508 Segmentation fault      start-stop-daemon --start --quiet --exec $WRAPPER --user "$AMULED_USER" --chuid "$AMULED_USER" > /dev/null
Im pretty sure that is something to do with the configuration in this same file... can anyone help me?

Thanks!!
« Last Edit: April 22, 2009, 07:32:36 AM by GrayFox.i0n »
Logged

GrayFox.i0n

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 2
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 139
Re: amule-daemon working until now, why not now?
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2009, 12:27:39 AM »

Does no one have any idea on how to try to fix this? :(
Logged

GrayFox.i0n

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 2
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 139
Re: amule-daemon working until now, why not now?
« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2009, 09:08:25 AM »

Thanks for replying... yes, i did try so, and actually, i tryed it just now once more, just in case..... i still get the same segfault error......  :-\
Logged

GrayFox.i0n

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 2
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 139
Re: amule-daemon working until now, why not now?
« Reply #3 on: April 24, 2009, 08:51:27 PM »

Code: [Select]
#! /bin/sh
### BEGIN INIT INFO
# Provides:          amule-daemon
# Required-Start:    $local_fs $remote_fs
# Required-Stop:     $local_fs $remote_fs
# Should-Start:      $network
# Should-Stop:       $network
# Default-Start:     2 3 4 5
# Default-Stop:      0 1 6
# Short-Description: Daemonized version of aMule.
# Description:       Starts the aMule daemon with the user specified in
#                    /etc/default/amule-daemon.
### END INIT INFO

PATH=/sbin:/usr/sbin:/bin:/usr/bin

PROGNAME=amuled
DESC="aMule daemon"
PKGNAME="amule-daemon"
DAEMON=/usr/bin/amuled
SCRIPTNAME=/etc/init.d/$PKGNAME
WRAPPER=/usr/share/amule/amuled_home_wrapper.sh

[ -x "$DAEMON" ] || exit 0
[ -r /etc/default/$PKGNAME ] && . /etc/default/$PKGNAME

. /lib/init/vars.sh # has VERBOSE
. /lib/lsb/init-functions

if [ -z "$AMULED_USER" ]; then
    log_warning_msg \
"Not starting $DESC, AMULED_USER not set in /etc/default/$PKGNAME."
    exit 0
fi

do_start()
{ <----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------lin3 37
# Return
#   0 if daemon has been started
#   1 if daemon was already running
#   2 if daemon could not be started
start-stop-daemon --start --quiet --exec $DAEMON --user "$AMULED_USER" --chuid "$AMULED_USER" --test >/dev/null || return 1
start-stop-daemon --start --quiet --exec $WRAPPER --user "$AMULED_USER" --chuid "$AMULED_USER" >/dev/null || return 2
}

do_stop()
{
# Return
#   0 if daemon has been stopped
#   1 if daemon was already stopped
#   2 if daemon could not be stopped
start-stop-daemon --stop --quiet --retry="TERM/30/KILL/5" --exec $DAEMON --user "$AMULED_USER" --chuid "$AMULED_USER"
return "$?"
}


case "$1" in
  start)
[ "$VERBOSE" != no ] && log_daemon_msg "Starting $DESC" "$PROGNAME"
do_start
case "$?" in
0) [ "$VERBOSE" != no ] && log_end_msg 0 ;;
1) [ "$VERBOSE" != no ] && \
log_progress_msg "(already running)" && log_end_msg 0 ;;
2) [ "$VERBOSE" != no ] && log_end_msg 1; exit 1 ;;
esac
;;
  stop)
[ "$VERBOSE" != no ] && log_daemon_msg "Stopping $DESC" "$PROGNAME"
do_stop
case "$?" in
0 | 1) [ "$VERBOSE" != no ] && log_end_msg 0 ;;
2)     [ "$VERBOSE" != no ] && log_end_msg 1; exit 1 ;;
esac
;;
  restart|force-reload)
log_daemon_msg "Restarting $DESC" "$PROGNAME"
do_stop
case "$?" in
  0 | 1)
do_start
case "$?" in
0) log_end_msg 0 ;;
1) log_end_msg 1; exit 1 ;; # Old process is still running
*) log_end_msg 1; exit 1 ;; # Failed to start
esac
;;
  *)
  # Failed to stop
log_end_msg 1
exit 1
;;
esac
;;
  *)
echo "Usage: $SCRIPTNAME {start|stop|restart|force-reload}" >&2
exit 3
;;
esac

exit 0

I ssh'd into this server that has amule daemon as xion, i ran amuled and i only got one line of message and got kicked back to the shell, the line was "Segmentation fault"

This is really strange.......
Logged

GrayFox.i0n

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 2
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 139
Re: amule-daemon working until now, why not now?
« Reply #4 on: April 25, 2009, 01:00:30 AM »

Isn't there any way for running the program and get more information on why this segfault happens? Could it be some corrupted dependencie, or anything similar?
It looks like something that is only affecting me.... (lucky me...)

Thanks
Logged

GrayFox.i0n

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 2
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 139
Re: amule-daemon working until now, why not now?
« Reply #5 on: April 26, 2009, 03:15:06 PM »

Is this repo working properly? : http://www.amule.org/amule/index.php?topic=16802.0

I added it to my /etc/apt/sources.list but i allways get an error when doing an apt-get update....  ???
Logged

GrayFox.i0n

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 2
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 139
Re: amule-daemon working until now, why not now?
« Reply #6 on: May 03, 2009, 11:17:37 PM »

I still cannot figure out why this error happens..... any other idea?
Logged

GrayFox.i0n

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 2
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 139
Re: amule-daemon working until now, why not now?
« Reply #7 on: May 10, 2009, 12:57:21 AM »

Its awkward:

I thought the problems came because of my Devian machine setup that, somehow, was corrupted or whatever, but today, i reinstalled it completely,a nd only activated sid for installing the latest amule... and i still have exactly the same problem..

As the amount of replyes indicate, i willl have to wait for the next build of amule, and cross my fingers: I will see if i can do something to tell the maintainer of the mackage in debian, to try to help in telling about this errors..

Thanks anyway!!
Logged

Vollstrecker

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 65
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1524
  • Unofficial Debian Packager
    • http://vollstreckernet.de
Re: amule-daemon working until now, why not now?
« Reply #8 on: May 10, 2009, 11:11:45 AM »

Is this repo working properly? : http://www.amule.org/amule/index.php?topic=16802.0

I added it to my /etc/apt/sources.list but i allways get an error when doing an apt-get update....  ???

Not yet. Maybe I get it next week done. The one for testing is working (r9578 atm) and should be okay for stable, too.
Logged
Homefucking is killing prostitution

GrayFox.i0n

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 2
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 139
Re: amule-daemon working until now, why not now?
« Reply #9 on: May 24, 2009, 08:56:57 PM »

amule now works after the last update

Whatever caused the problems in the previous version, is already gone for good.

Thanks anyway (going to start to download all the material that i did not in this last month) :o ;D :D
Logged