aMule Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

We're back! (IN POG FORM)

Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: aMule is taking 16GB of RAM  (Read 6999 times)

Impactor

  • Approved Newbie
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15
aMule is taking 16GB of RAM
« on: November 24, 2009, 11:09:35 AM »

Well, only 4gb, cause that’s all I have, but it would use everything no matter how much I had.

Every time it loses the connection, it starts expanding in RAM until computer is no longer usable.
I am looking either for:
1. A way to make aMule stop doing that
2. A script that will kill it when it reaches 50% of memory
Logged

Stu Redman

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 214
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3763
  • Engines screaming
Re: aMule is taking 16GB of RAM
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2009, 11:11:05 AM »

Version? Platform? Logfile?
Logged
The image of mother goddess, lying dormant in the eyes of the dead, the sheaf of the corn is broken, end the harvest, throw the dead on the pyre -- Iron Maiden, Isle of Avalon

Impactor

  • Approved Newbie
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15
Re: aMule is taking 16GB of RAM
« Reply #2 on: November 24, 2009, 11:12:49 AM »

Version? Platform? Logfile?
aMule 2.2.6.
Ubuntu 64bit
I dont have a logfile with crash right now, but I doubt there would be anuthing other than "Cannot connect to server".
« Last Edit: November 24, 2009, 11:15:34 AM by Impactor »
Logged

Stu Redman

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 214
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3763
  • Engines screaming
Re: aMule is taking 16GB of RAM
« Reply #3 on: November 24, 2009, 02:23:33 PM »

Distro or self-compiled? Which Ubuntu version?
Please post the log file when it happens again. (Remove references to file real names first.)
Logged
The image of mother goddess, lying dormant in the eyes of the dead, the sheaf of the corn is broken, end the harvest, throw the dead on the pyre -- Iron Maiden, Isle of Avalon

Impactor

  • Approved Newbie
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15
Re: aMule is taking 16GB of RAM
« Reply #4 on: November 24, 2009, 02:35:18 PM »

It is Ubuntu Jaunty 9.04 64bit. Customized but none of the changes touches amule.
I will post the log when it happens, but in the mean time could you speculate? I take it that's not a common problem?
Logged

Stu Redman

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 214
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3763
  • Engines screaming
Re: aMule is taking 16GB of RAM
« Reply #5 on: November 24, 2009, 05:10:32 PM »

It's not common, unless you have an upload speed of > 1MB / s or so.
Logged
The image of mother goddess, lying dormant in the eyes of the dead, the sheaf of the corn is broken, end the harvest, throw the dead on the pyre -- Iron Maiden, Isle of Avalon

Impactor

  • Approved Newbie
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15
Re: aMule is taking 16GB of RAM
« Reply #6 on: November 24, 2009, 05:18:39 PM »

Not really. My upload is capped at 100kb/s. As I said, however, it only happens then there is no internet connection for few mintues. Then, memory leak starts and after 5-10 minutes it takesover 4gb of ram.
Logged

Stu Redman

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 214
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3763
  • Engines screaming
Re: aMule is taking 16GB of RAM
« Reply #7 on: November 24, 2009, 10:46:40 PM »

You know how to run valgrind? That could be interesting.
Logged
The image of mother goddess, lying dormant in the eyes of the dead, the sheaf of the corn is broken, end the harvest, throw the dead on the pyre -- Iron Maiden, Isle of Avalon

btkaos

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 110
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 486
  • Kaos is infinite!
Re: aMule is taking 16GB of RAM
« Reply #8 on: November 25, 2009, 04:17:43 AM »

It is Ubuntu Jaunty 9.04 64bit. Customized but none of the changes touches amule.
99% sure this is a known bug in libx11. Update your Ubuntu version or apply this patch:

http://cgit.freedesktop.org/xorg/lib/libX11/commit/?id=da6bbca07c796c69172a649405474f03bee66754
Logged

Impactor

  • Approved Newbie
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15
Re: aMule is taking 16GB of RAM
« Reply #9 on: November 25, 2009, 10:17:28 AM »

I have logs from when it happened, but they show nothing:

2009-11-24 20:17:12: Finished downloading: some file.zip
2009-11-24 22:23:24: Connected to Kad (firewalled)
2009-11-24 22:23:24: Connected to Kad (ok)


I cannot update my ubuntu to Koala cause I would lose too much of my customization.
« Last Edit: November 25, 2009, 11:18:22 AM by wuischke »
Logged

wuischke

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 183
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4319
Re: aMule is taking 16GB of RAM
« Reply #10 on: November 25, 2009, 11:21:08 AM »

Mh, I haven't used Ubuntu for a while, but in my experience a dist-upgrade doesn't impact customizations unreasonably. Do you speak from experience or do you fear it might screw things up?

On a side note: Please do not post potentially copyrighted file names here.
Logged

Impactor

  • Approved Newbie
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15
Re: aMule is taking 16GB of RAM
« Reply #11 on: November 25, 2009, 11:47:43 AM »

Sorry about the filename. It eluded me.

I installed my 64bit 9.04 about seven months ago and since then I made loads of modifications to it, ranging from power saving tweaks to replacing nautilus with pcmanfm (also as desktop manager). I upgraded kernel, configured exotic hardware, replaced a lot of the default software, after long struggle managed to make hibernation and microphone work, even made office 2003 work in 80% of cases. Overall, only after I made many, many, many things to it, I was somewhat comfortable with it being my main operating system.

When I tried upgrading to Koala, I saw it wanted to remove/install a lot of programs I customized/don't want. Hence my question - can I upgrade this lib without going Koala?
Logged

wuischke

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 183
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4319
Re: aMule is taking 16GB of RAM
« Reply #12 on: November 25, 2009, 01:22:13 PM »

Yes, you can re-compile the package with the patch.

This works more or less like this:
1. Download source packages [1] and [2].
2. Extract the orig.tar.gz file, chdir into the resulting directory and execute zcat ../libx11_1.1.99.2-1ubuntu2.diff.gz | patch -p1 to prepare the debian package structure.
3. Download and apply the patch btkaos referred to [3]
4. Try to build the package with "dpkg-buildpackage". It will complain about missing packages, install these packages and try again.
5. Install the resulting deb file.

From my experience (I used Ubuntu from ca. 2005-2006), upgrades work more or less without affecting customizations. Usually it will mark files which will get overwritten with a comment inside the configuration file. But it's probably better to wait for 10.04 and upgrade to a LTS version.
Logged

btkaos

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 110
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 486
  • Kaos is infinite!
Re: aMule is taking 16GB of RAM
« Reply #13 on: November 26, 2009, 01:09:58 PM »

I cannot update my ubuntu to Koala cause I would lose too much of my customization.
Then recompile the package.

The easiest way is:
  • Download the dsc file from packages ubuntu com
  • Download the patch and save it to xlib-fix.patch
  • $ dget -x $dsc file
  • $ cd xlib...
  • $ cat ../xlib-fix.patch | patch -p1
  • $ sudo apt-get build-deps xlib
  • $ dpkg-buildpackage
  • $ install the debs

[As a side note, you may preserve your customizations in the upgrade, but you'll have to use aptitude to do it and a little bit of care]
Logged

Impactor

  • Approved Newbie
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15
Re: aMule is taking 16GB of RAM
« Reply #14 on: November 26, 2009, 11:28:02 PM »

wuischke
I don't know how to apply this patch from point 3.

btkaos
What dsc file are you referring to? There are many libx11 packages and I don't know which one should I download.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3