aMule Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

We're back! (IN POG FORM)

Author Topic: aMule won't show the GUI any more once closed under Gentoo  (Read 4861 times)

machinarium

  • Approved Newbie
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
aMule won't show the GUI any more once closed under Gentoo
« on: June 16, 2011, 02:14:44 PM »

Hi folks.
I am running Gentoo( 2.6.38-gentoo-r6). Recently I have installed aMule (2.2.6) using
Code: [Select]
USE="upnp" emerge amule After installation, I click the aMule item in 'Applications->Internet->aMule', and aMule's GUI shows up. Then I click the close  button, a dialog saying 'Really to exit aMule' pops up, and I click Yes, so the GUI windows is closed. However, when I click the aMule item again, no GUI shows up again. It's so weird. I am quite sure when I close the GUI window for the first time, no amule process is running.
Anyone know the reasons? Thanks in advance.
Logged

machinarium

  • Approved Newbie
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: aMule won't show the GUI any more once closed under Gentoo
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2011, 04:37:41 AM »

Something more:
     After closing all amule processes, I type amule in the terminal. It shows
Code: [Select]
Initialising aMule 2.2.6 using wxGTK2 v2.8.11
Checking if there is an instance already running...
No other instance are running.
ListenSocket: OK
HTTP download thread started
And the GUI of amule never display. It stuck there. Any ideas will be appreciated.
Logged

machinarium

  • Approved Newbie
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
aMule won't show the GUI any more once closed under Gentoo
« Reply #2 on: June 17, 2011, 01:37:23 PM »

Firstly, I have to apologize if it is not proper to post here. And I posted it in the board aMule Help, but no one answers me. So I post it here.
I use the Gentoo(2.6.38-gentoo-r6) and aMule(2.2.6). After installation using USE="upnp" emerge amule, I click the aMule item in 'Applications->Internet->aMule', and aMule's GUI shows up. Then I click the close  button, a dialog saying 'Really to exit aMule' pops up, and I click Yes, so the GUI windows is closed. However, when I click the aMule item or type amule in terminal , no GUI shows up again. It's so weird. I am quite sure after closing the GUI window for the first time, no amule process is running. Here is the backtraces.
Code: [Select]
jfhu@localhost ~ $ gdb /usr/bin/amule
GNU gdb (Gentoo 7.2 p1) 7.2
Copyright (C) 2010 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
License GPLv3+: GNU GPL version 3 or later <http://gnu.org/licenses/gpl.html>
This is free software: you are free to change and redistribute it.
There is NO WARRANTY, to the extent permitted by law.  Type "show copying"
and "show warranty" for details.
This GDB was configured as "i686-pc-linux-gnu".
For bug reporting instructions, please see:
<http://bugs.gentoo.org/>...
Reading symbols from /usr/bin/amule...(no debugging symbols found)...done.
(gdb) run
Starting program: /usr/bin/amule
[Thread debugging using libthread_db enabled]
Initialising aMule 2.2.6 using wxGTK2 v2.8.11
Checking if there is an instance already running...
No other instances are running.
ListenSocket: Ok.
[New Thread 0xb32d3b70 (LWP 28166)]
HTTP download thread started
^C
Program received signal SIGINT, Interrupt.
0xb7ffd430 in __kernel_vsyscall ()
(gdb) bt
#0  0xb7ffd430 in __kernel_vsyscall ()
#1  0xb7310c33 in ?? () from /lib/libc.so.6
#2  0xb7314e0f in ?? () from /lib/libc.so.6
Backtrace stopped: previous frame identical to this frame (corrupt stack?)
(gdb) bt full
#0  0xb7ffd430 in __kernel_vsyscall ()
No symbol table info available.
#1  0xb7310c33 in ?? () from /lib/libc.so.6
No symbol table info available.
#2  0xb7314e0f in ?? () from /lib/libc.so.6
No symbol table info available.
Backtrace stopped: previous frame identical to this frame (corrupt stack?)
(gdb) thread apply all bt

Thread 2 (Thread 0xb32d3b70 (LWP 28166)):
#0  0xb7ffd430 in __kernel_vsyscall ()
#1  0xb7fc00a9 in __lll_lock_wait () from /lib/libpthread.so.0
#2  0xb7fbb569 in _L_lock_554 () from /lib/libpthread.so.0
#3  0xb7fbb3fb in pthread_mutex_lock () from /lib/libpthread.so.0
#4  0xb7ff329d in ?? () from /lib/ld-linux.so.2
#5  0xb733a5c2 in ?? () from /lib/libc.so.6
#6  0xb7fef506 in ?? () from /lib/ld-linux.so.2
#7  0xb733a6c1 in ?? () from /lib/libc.so.6
#8  0xb733a7db in __libc_dlopen_mode () from /lib/libc.so.6
#9  0xb7314263 in __nss_lookup_function () from /lib/libc.so.6
#10 0xb7314a29 in __nss_next2 () from /lib/libc.so.6
#11 0xb731ae15 in gethostbyname_r () from /lib/libc.so.6
#12 0xb763de7d in wxGethostbyname_r(char const*, hostent*, void*, int, int*) ()
   from /usr/lib/libwx_baseu_net-2.8.so.0
#13 0xb763df4f in GAddress_INET_SetHostName ()
   from /usr/lib/libwx_baseu_net-2.8.so.0
#14 0xb7632c0f in wxIPV4address::Hostname(wxString const&) ()
   from /usr/lib/libwx_baseu_net-2.8.so.0
#15 0x0814caf2 in ?? ()
#16 0x0814d21f in ?? ()
#17 0xb75aec38 in wxThreadInternal::PthreadStart(wxThread*) ()
---Type <return> to continue, or q <return> to quit---
   from /usr/lib/libwx_baseu-2.8.so.0
#18 0xb75aec9d in wxPthreadStart () from /usr/lib/libwx_baseu-2.8.so.0
#19 0xb7fb8cf2 in start_thread () from /lib/libpthread.so.0
#20 0xb730384e in clone () from /lib/libc.so.6

Thread 1 (Thread 0xb4986850 (LWP 28159)):
#0  0xb7ffd430 in __kernel_vsyscall ()
#1  0xb7310c33 in ?? () from /lib/libc.so.6
#2  0xb7314e0f in ?? () from /lib/libc.so.6
Backtrace stopped: previous frame identical to this frame (corrupt stack?)
Hope make myself clear. Any ideas will be appreciated.
Best regards
Logged

GonoszTopi

  • The current man in charge of most things.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 169
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2685
Re: aMule won't show the GUI any more once closed under Gentoo
« Reply #3 on: June 18, 2011, 08:49:38 AM »

Try deleting (moving/renaming) ~/.aMule/amule.conf

Maybe the window size/position is invalid there.
Logged
concordia cum veritate

GonoszTopi

  • The current man in charge of most things.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 169
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2685
Re: aMule won't show the GUI any more once closed under Gentoo
« Reply #4 on: June 18, 2011, 08:53:51 AM »

Not getting an answer immediately doesn't mean you won't get one. Everyone here does this on their free time, which is sometimes less then we'd like it to be.

Conversation continues on your other topic.
Logged
concordia cum veritate

machinarium

  • Approved Newbie
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: aMule won't show the GUI any more once closed under Gentoo
« Reply #5 on: June 18, 2011, 09:00:11 AM »

Thanks for your reply. I tried your suggestion, but it didn't work either. Even I delete the whole directory .aMule, the GUI window just wouldn't display. Is there any body who can use amule 2.2.6 normally under Gentoo?
Logged

GonoszTopi

  • The current man in charge of most things.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 169
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2685
Re: aMule won't show the GUI any more once closed under Gentoo
« Reply #6 on: June 18, 2011, 09:03:58 AM »

Does your aMule log file (~/.aMule/logfile) contain any error/warning/strange thing?
Logged
concordia cum veritate

machinarium

  • Approved Newbie
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: aMule won't show the GUI any more once closed under Gentoo
« Reply #7 on: June 19, 2011, 03:28:34 AM »

Does your aMule log file (~/.aMule/logfile) contain any error/warning/strange thing?
Thanks for your reply. Here is the content of the ~/.aMule/logfile
Code: [Select]
2011-06-19 09:24:22: amule.cpp(605): Starting aMule 2.2.6 using wxGTK2 v2.8.11
2011-06-19 09:24:25: ClientCreditsList.cpp(315): No 'cryptkey.dat' file found, creating.
2011-06-19 09:24:25: ClientCreditsList.cpp(279): Credits: Created new RSA keypair
2011-06-19 09:24:25: IPFilter.cpp(109): Loading IP-filters 'ipfilter.dat' and 'ipfilter_static.dat'.
2011-06-19 09:24:25: IPFilter.cpp(334): Loaded 0 IP-ranges from '/home/jfhu/.aMule/ipfilter.dat'. 0 malformed lines were discarded.
2011-06-19 09:24:25: IPFilter.cpp(334): Loaded 0 IP-ranges from '/home/jfhu/.aMule/ipfilter_static.dat'. 0 malformed lines were discarded.
2011-06-19 09:24:25: ExternalConn.cpp(168): External connections disabled in config file
2011-06-19 09:24:25: MuleUDPSocket.cpp(81): Created Server UDP-Socket at port 4665
2011-06-19 09:24:25: MuleUDPSocket.cpp(81): Created Client UDP-Socket at port 4672
I don't know what should follow the MuleUDPSocket.cpp in a successful startup.
Logged

machinarium

  • Approved Newbie
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: aMule won't show the GUI any more once closed under Gentoo
« Reply #8 on: June 22, 2011, 05:36:16 PM »

From the backtraces above I posted, it seems to be caused by libc, which is part of package glibc in gentoo. Need to downgrade the version of glibc? This is quite dangerous to the base system of gentoo.
« Last Edit: June 22, 2011, 05:59:36 PM by Stu Redman »
Logged

Stu Redman

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 214
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3739
  • Engines screaming
Re: aMule won't show the GUI any more once closed under Gentoo
« Reply #9 on: June 22, 2011, 06:03:55 PM »

I merged the two topics to avoid further confusion.

Problem is not cause by libc. The app somehow deadlocks in the http download, whatever it tries to download here (maybe new serverlist ?).

Can you try the 2.3.1.rc1 to see if the problem occurs there too?
Logged
The image of mother goddess, lying dormant in the eyes of the dead, the sheaf of the corn is broken, end the harvest, throw the dead on the pyre -- Iron Maiden, Isle of Avalon

machinarium

  • Approved Newbie
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: aMule won't show the GUI any more once closed under Gentoo
« Reply #10 on: June 23, 2011, 03:37:17 AM »

I merged the two topics to avoid further confusion.

Problem is not cause by libc. The app somehow deadlocks in the http download, whatever it tries to download here (maybe new serverlist ?).

Can you try the 2.3.1.rc1 to see if the problem occurs there too?
Sorry for the confusion caused by my impatience, I will try 2.3.1.rc1 and give the experience after installing it.
Logged

machinarium

  • Approved Newbie
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: aMule won't show the GUI any more once closed under Gentoo
« Reply #11 on: June 23, 2011, 10:01:12 AM »

Below is my recent attempting. First I reinstall amule 2.2.6 from Gentoo portage. And I type amule in a gnome-terminal, I get the GUI, click off the Check for new version at startup. Now the annoying problem disappears. I can close and open the amule casually. So there is no necessary to try to install amule 2.3.1 RC, sorry for Stu Redman. But I just don't know how the action of checking new version can stick the startup process of amule.
Logged

Stu Redman

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 214
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3739
  • Engines screaming
Re: aMule won't show the GUI any more once closed under Gentoo
« Reply #12 on: June 23, 2011, 10:53:37 AM »

Ah, that was the blocking http download...
It would still be interesting to see if the problem persists wit 2.3.1.rc1 . If yes we have to do something about it before releasing it.
Logged
The image of mother goddess, lying dormant in the eyes of the dead, the sheaf of the corn is broken, end the harvest, throw the dead on the pyre -- Iron Maiden, Isle of Avalon

machinarium

  • Approved Newbie
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: aMule won't show the GUI any more once closed under Gentoo
« Reply #13 on: June 23, 2011, 01:56:28 PM »

Ah, that was the blocking http download...
It would still be interesting to see if the problem persists wit 2.3.1.rc1 . If yes we have to do something about it before releasing it.
I'm sorry for having not so much time to install 2.3.1.rc1 and test it. These weeks I have a lot of exams such algorithms, software testing and os. Maybe this problem is related to the OS(Gentoo), because I can use amule 2.2.6 normally in Ubuntu 10.04. Or the problem is related with my network conditions. I have two network cards with one to which no cables connect and the other one connecting to the Router(TL WR340G+). And the connected card is configured to use dhcp, getting ip address 192.168.1.100(rarely change). Anyway, thanks everyone for your help.
Logged

Stu Redman

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 214
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3739
  • Engines screaming
Re: aMule won't show the GUI any more once closed under Gentoo
« Reply #14 on: June 23, 2011, 02:16:48 PM »

No problem, real life should always come first.  :)
If you get a chance some day to check out the rc1 (or the rc2 which is also supposed to come out before release) let us know the results.
Logged
The image of mother goddess, lying dormant in the eyes of the dead, the sheaf of the corn is broken, end the harvest, throw the dead on the pyre -- Iron Maiden, Isle of Avalon