aMule Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

We're back! (IN POG FORM)

Author Topic: amule slowes down router $ www  (Read 1973 times)

[pl]ice

  • Approved Newbie
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17
amule slowes down router $ www
« on: May 30, 2005, 07:57:31 AM »

hi, i got a strange problem!!
  i'm sharing wless connection, through Dlink g604T. I have distributed ports for 2 pcs
    after leaving amule on for a while, i can't open www, like it has jameed! router doesn't respond (telnet) but the connection is on, downloading etc. So:
1- i closed down amule (swithed off the other box (XP) ), www started to open immidatelly.
2-reboot router, on amule, works fine www & amule

  i have limited the up/down connection, and it doesn't matter, i strongly suspect my BRAN new router!!

please advise!
thanks.
Logged

stefanero

  • Some Support
  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 8
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4236
Re: amule slowes down router $ www
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2005, 08:14:02 AM »

well dlink routers are really not the best ;)
try to lower your conn / 5 secs under amule-tweaks, and lower it to about 10.
also dont set your max connections in amule not higher then 500-1000, this should help the www traffic a bit.

stefanero
Logged
In its default setup, Windows XP on the Internet amounts to a car
parked in a bad part of town, with the doors unlocked, the key in
the ignition and a Post-It note on the dashboard saying, "Please
don't steal this."

lfroen

  • Guest
Logged

[pl]ice

  • Approved Newbie
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17
Re: amule slowes down router $ www
« Reply #3 on: May 31, 2005, 02:26:12 AM »

thnx, i have read quite a bit, and comes out that dlink xxT series behave in the same way!, they need manual adjustments in the router itself  8o  and there is a long list, which routers will work with p2p . There was also a note about KAD;  so yeh, will try to fix it, and if dlink won't help(they did a lot on another forum), then straight to the shop for netgear. oh yeh, it clogs up the internal network :/
thnx.
Logged